FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

Using CML or DQS transceiver pins as LVDS possible in Stratix V DSP Dev Kit?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

Forgive me if the question is basic. I am new to the field of FPGAs.  

I give a short version of the question. And a long version of the question. 

For those interested :). 

Note: Requirement is Rx only. No Tx. Half the problem doesn't exist. All pins discussed below are with reference to input pins. :) 

Short version: 

CML and LVDS are two high-speed differential signaling standards.  

FGPA Development Kit 1 has pins on a port supporting CML differential I/O according to the kit reference manual. 

The actual FPGA on the Development Kit supports LVDS on those pins according to the FPGA manual. 

But the reference manual of the Dev Kit doesn't indicate support of LVDS on that port. 

Is it possible to configure the actual pins of the FPGA to take an LVDS input instead of CML. 

Long version: 

Altera Stratix V DSP Development Kit. (Supports CML and LVDS on PortA)  

connected to Altera Stratix III Development Kit. (Supports LVDS only)  

Basically we want more LVDS lines on the Stratix V to receive input from the DE3 on a wider bus between the FPGAs. So looking for additional pins. 

Port A of the KIT has CML Rx receivers that could be configured as LVDS on the FPGA. 

Port B of the KIT has some differential DQS compatible pins that could be configured as LVDS on the FPGA. 

In both cases, the reference manual of the kit does not indicate that the pins on the port are compatible to LVDS. 

The FPGA itself supports LVDS input according to the device handbook. 

The connecter and cable between the boards will be based around Samtec EPLSP  

A possible work around would be AC coupling between CML/LVDS 

Using an IC by TI sn65cml100 

I'd like some guidance on going about such a task and whether its possible or not? 

Cheers.