FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5915 Discussions

Using TCP/IP or UDP in NIOS II ?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I was reading quite a while in your foum and finally I managed to get registered here as I'm encountering problems with my NIOS II design. I know there may exist similar threads like this one, but I didn't truly get answers to my questions. 

I'm a student currently working on my bachelor thesis and my task is simplified to collect data from PIOs with a NIOS II (which does not really pose a problem ;) ) and sending them to a PC via Ethernet. 

I have got the following equipment: 

• DBC3C40 Development Board 

• Quartus II 9.1 SP2 

• NIOS II EDS 9.1 SP2 

• Triple Speed Ethernet IP-Core 

As I'm quite new to FPGA and Ethernet design and programming, I've got some questions which I'd highly appreciate if you could answer them to me. 

After gathering basic knowledge in FPGA designing and programming, my first thought was to use the UDP protocol for sending data via Ethernet as it isn't as complicated as TCP/IP, but then I read here that it would be quite easy to implement TCP/IP with the NicheStack. Followingly I tried doing it by reading tons of documents and tutorials but I didn't truly manage to get the point in doing so as the complex protocols together with the MicroC/OS-II RTOS quite overstrained me :-/ Additionally, there don't exist any tutorials especially for the DBC3C40 board, which makes the understanding worse.  

Does it really make sense to use the TCP/IP NicheStack or would a use of UDP pose less problems ?  

Or do there even exist some more .. "high level" stacks which would make designing easier? The triple speed ethernet does not necessarily have to be used.  

Does there exist a tutorial which shows the implementation "from the ground" and doesn't require a certain development board ? 

Another question which I find quite stupid but didn't find an answre for it: