FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5925 Discussions

What software I need to buy to work with Cyclon III dev. board?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new in FPGA, but have large experience in HPC and massively-parallel numerical computations. 

I need a board for data acquisition and making numerics with this data and thinking about the following board: 

http://www.altera.com/products/devkits/altera/kit-cyc3.html 

The main question is the budget... Am I right, that I need IPS-EMBEDDED package for $995 if I want to use simple prints to monitors, assessing memory, Ethernet and combining all with my self developed Verilog programs? Should I buy IPS-EMBEDDED ones, or 995$ is per year or per device price? 

Should I also buy Quartus II or, for such a development, I can definitely use a web edition for free? 

Or if I buy a QuartusII I will have IPS-EMBEDDED included for free? 

PS: I do not run it only for evaluation purposes, I want to make heavy acquisition/computation on it in field conditions. 

PPS: how to buy IPS-EMBEDDED, I cannot order it online, Farnell and Newark have no such package? I need it surely as the company customer. 

Thank you for your kind help. 

Sincerely, 

Ilghiz
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

IPS-EMBEDDED contains the IP components typically used in FPGA based embedded processor systems: NIOS II, DDRx controller, Ethernet stack. As other Altera IP licenses, they are not time limited, but are not guaranteed to work with any future Quartus version. 

The Quartus subscription version contains only the memory controllers from IPS-EMBEDDED suite, there have been also special offers of the subscription version that contained a NIOS II license. All-in-all, IPS-EMBEDDED suite is an interesting offer, if you only need the respective IP components, I think. Without a license, you're restricted to time-limited evaluation runs of your design.