FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
4953 Discussions

simple frame buffer to vga on DE1-SOC

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

Hi guys, 

I'm a bit of a novice to qsys and the De1-soc so i was wondering if someone could help me. I'm interesting in reading data from an sd card and using a frame buffer to view it on the vga output of the cyclone V de1-soc. Is there anyone here who can provide a sample qsys design of how this is supposed to look like? Id image it would pretty quick for someone experienced with qsys to set this up. 

Thanks a lot for any help!
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

You may check into the following reference design link at Altera web to see if can find any similar design that suit your requirement: 

https://www.altera.com/products/reference-designs/all-reference-designs.html
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

Ok thank you but I didn't seem to find anything on the link provided :(

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

Several of the Terasic demo board CDs have demos for VGA. I don't know about the DE1-SOC, but some of the other DE series boards have VGA demos. You will need to use a processor either with linux or without to operate the SD card. You have an ARM already on the SOC, it would work. Start with the GHRD for the DE1-SOC and add your VGA frame buffer to it.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

Dear all, 

I want to manually start VGA output using Frame Reader and Clocked Video Output. 

As a reference I'm using project form SystemCD: DE1-SoC_v.3.1.1_SystemCD\Demonstrations\SOC_FPGA\DE1_SOC_Linux_FB. (so there is no need to attach