FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

terasic DE0-Nano Developmentkiy- linux help

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi 

Im new in the SoC world :)- im an hardware guy - but i have a software question :) 

I want to buy the terasic DE0-Nano Development kit. but before i do it i have some questions. 

i want to work with Linux - terasic give an linux image on SD Card , my software team want to write there code in C# so they use a tool named "MONO" that enable to run C# on Linux. 

1. how i can check if the Linux that i get from terasic support "Mono"? 

2. we want to work with 4 modules that connected to the USB port ( via USB HUB ) .The modules work with UART(COM port) - does the Linux that terasic gave have a uart driver ? 

thanks 

david
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

DE0-Nano come without SD. I recommend you DE1-SOC that come with FPGA+ARM to run Linux from SD. 

Mono is not a good idea on an embedded system, I think that there isn't even "apt-get" but I can check.. 

DE1-Soc has 2 usb host port, you can connect things. Your module should be compatible with Linux. 

PS: DE0-Nano != DE0-Nano-SoC Kit
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

DE0-Nano come without SD. I recommend you DE1-SOC that come with FPGA+ARM to run Linux from SD. 

Mono is not a good idea on an embedded system, I think that there isn't even "apt-get" but I can check.. 

DE1-Soc has 2 usb host port, you can connect things. Your module should be compatible with Linux. 

--- Quote End ---  

Sorry I made a mistake I meant : DE0-Nano-SoC Development Kit  

this is the link: 

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?language=english&categoryno=167&no=941 

this board have a SD CARD, terasic give a linux image for the SD card.