Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20499 Discussions

HDR unusable

Xtrips
Beginner

Hello,

I am using the latest driver on my PC, connected to a Samsung 4K TV (not monitor).

When I switch on the HDR toggle in the driver all the video signal goes through some HDR process I guess and the picture is washed out and colors are skewed.
I am a professional calibrator so I tried to calibrate the combo TV + calibration client running on my PC (Calman Client 3) but the picture stays horrible.
First of all I expected the HDR switch to affect only HDR video signals and leave the rest of the signals untouched.
And then I expected the HDR signals at least to be rendered correctly. Far from it.
So what is this HDR switch for according to Intel?

0 Kudos
10 Replies
n_scott_pearson
Super User

I agree. All it seems to mean currently is switching between 8-bit and 10-bit modes - and it's the only way to use 10-bit mode.

...S

0 Kudos
Maria_R_Intel

Hello Xtrips,

Thank you for posting on the Intel* Community.

To better assist you, please provide me with the below information:

• Which type of connection are you using? (HDMI* to HDMI*, DP* to DP*)
  • Provide us with a picture to see the behavior.

Provide the below reports:

Intel® System Support Utility (Intel® SSU) 

With the external display connected, provide the Intel* Graphics Command Center report:

>Go to the Intel Graphics Command Center

>Support

>System Diagnostic

>Generate report.

>Attach the report file.

Best regards,

Maria R.

Intel Customer Support Technician

0 Kudos
Xtrips
Beginner

Hello

I am using a HDMI to HDMI connection. 
Disabling HDR in your driver allows for a perfect calibration on my screen, using Rec.709 colorspace of course.