Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20620 Discussions

Intel 3000 can run modern games like fornight at 200fps, nobody wants to put the work in to develop

Wertia
Novice

Hater post but I have been reading countless patent applications related to semiconductors and old intel 3000 for a few months off & on , and while I am no expert nor can I reproduce anything I want to know , how the intel 3000, which has 624 Million Transistor's CAN'T run modern games like Fornight, Call of duty Black ops 2, League of Legends etc. I think the blame doesn't go on the Graphics itselfs, but the games who make it in high-level languages and tons of unnecessary features that could alternatively be done in another way. Does Fornight really need 600 million transistor's to run on low level resource systems like ubuntu? Nah. I'm willing to believe that there's already pre-existing packages out there on Github that can run the system efficiently as low as 1 million transistors on alternative modifications of Fornight, heck that leaves more than 599 transistor's left minus 10 million for ubuntu ish . I know there's games that can run sololy on powerful cpus like i7 2860qm and not use GPU at all, but why couldn't we run on the GPU with transistor's of half a billion? Do we need more power per transistors? Overclocking? 

Rant, I really am just being a hypocrite but just wanted to start a discussion, I have no interest in playing modern games, just a minecraft player who runs fine on intel 3000 with optifine on lowest settings on a low powered linux distro like linux mint and ubuntu although agruable can go even lower with arch .

0 Kudos
5 Replies
AlHill
Super User

What is the point to all of your posts on HD3000, and your silly attempt at transistor counts?

It is a dead product, and time for users like you to move on. 

Doc (not an Intel employee or contractor)
[Maybe Windows 12 will be better]

Wertia
Novice