Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20623 Discussions

Memory leak caused by NV_DX_interop

Ivan_K_1
Beginner

Hello, I am a developer in AxxonSoft (http://www.axxonsoft.com/)

We use Intel Quick Sync for video decompression and then NV_DX_interop extension to share Direct3D textures with our OpenGL renderer. It seems that NV_DX_interop gives a memory leak on Intel NUC platforms. Memory leaks after creating Direct3D render target, calling wglDXRegisterObjectNV/wglDXUnregisterObjectNV on it and releasing this render target. It happens both in 64 bit and 32 bit applications.

System Setup Information:
-----------------------------------------

System Used: Intel® NUC NUC6I5SYK
CPU SKU: Intel Core i5-6260U
GPU SKU: Intel Iris 540
Processor Line: N/A
System BIOS Version: N/A
CMOS settings: N/A
Graphics Driver Version: 21.20.16.4590
GOP/VBIOS Version: N/A
Operating System: Windows
OS Version: Windows 7 Professional x64
API: OpenGL extension NV_DX_interop
Occurs on non-Intel GPUs?: No, tested on NVIDIA

Steps to Reproduce:
-------------------------------
1. Launch the test program: DXInteropLeak.exe
2. Open the task manager and look for the DXInteropLeak.exe process, note its memory consumption

Expected Results:

Process memory is more or less stable all the time.

Actual Results:

Process memory is constantly increasing, it takes several seconds to leak 1GB.

Additional Information:

Power plan set to High Performance. Please note that the problem cannot be reproduced on Intel i5-3570K CPU (HD Graphics 4000, driver 10.18.10.4425). Also problem disappears after commenting lines with wglDXRegisterObjectNV/wglDXUnregisterObjectNV out. Also problem doesn't occur on NVidia GPUs. Looks similar to this bug https://software.intel.com/en-us/node/707697, but leak caused by other NV_DX_interop functions.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Michael_C_Intel2
Employee

Hi Ivan,