Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7943 Discussions

A SIMD loop performs memory references unconditionally.

mikeitexpert
New Contributor II

I am just learning vector programming using ICL and come across the following tip/statement regarding Loop Vectorization which is not clear to me. Saying ....

"

• A SIMD loop performs memory references unconditionally. Therefore, all address computations must result in valid memory addresses, even though such locations may not be accessed if the loop is executed sequentially

"

What does the author imply by "unconditionally"?

I would like an expert to kindly elaborate on that please. Because, it can give debugging headaches if I don't take all details into consideration. 

Much appreciate it.

Here is the web link for further details.

mikeitexpert_0-1617371343991.png

0 Kudos
    1 Solution
    jimdempseyatthecove
    Honored Contributor III

Take for example (sketch code):

if(condition) A(i) = A(i) + K(j)

Where "condition" specifies not only that not only that you want to perform the statement, but also that the statement contains an invalid address, which, may be mapped inside your VM address space .OR. represent an invalid address. Bare in mind that such SIMD coded statements fetch the arguments first, then perform the conditional operation (as opposed to scalar code possibly bypassing the fetch, though in some cases the compiler optimization may perform the fetch, operation and then conditional move).

In the case of a gather/scatter though the CPU may (should) inhibit memory trap to invalid address (while performing the fetch on the valid addresses even when the condition is false).

Jim Dempsey

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
    4 Replies
    AwesomeScottB
    Beginner