Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Aligning with new: for a beginner

llevrel
Beginner

Hi,

I would like to align an array of class instances that's dynamically allocated as follows:

Myclass *foo=new Myclass;

I'll pad the class so that its instances are the size of a cache line. Now I obviously want the array elements to be cache aligned.

How do I achieve this? I'm rather new to C++, so don't be afraid of giving too much detail!

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Georg_Z_Intel
Employee
Hello, there are two basic ways to achieve what you want but with different levels of complexity: 1. Aligning objects usually does make less sense on a high level view. Most likely you have some data members (e.g. arrays) you want to have aligned but not the object itself. For that you can use the __declspcec(align(…)) or __attribute__((aligned(…))) attributes when declaring the data members. Example: [cpp] class A { private: int some_member; __declspec(align(32)) int data[...]; }; [/cpp] 2. If you really know the layout of the object and you want to enforce a certain alignment for the base address of that object, you can use the "placement new" operator. The memory area you pass to it can be allocated with _mm_malloc(...) upfront. _mm_malloc(...) allows to specify the alignment. Or you call standard "malloc" here and enforce correct alignment manually. Best regards, Georg Zitzlsberger

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
31 Replies
Georg_Z_Intel
Employee