Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7943 Discussions

Anomalous performance differences between MS7 and Linux

dehvidc1
Beginner
I've been doing a project for a few months that started with a model study using ICC on MS7 and after getting good performance improvements I'm now introducing the changes to the Linux production system.

The MS7 code was essentially the product system code with a few changes to input and output to make it easier to port. Functionally it was pretty much identical to the production system.

The MS7 system (dual CPU, quad cores, no hyper-threading) used a slightly earlier ICC version. I'm using ICC 12.0 on Linux. I'm building on a a Dell Cluster where the build node is twin CPU's, quad physical cores with hyperthreading. The cluster nodes I'm timing on are twin CPU's, six physical cores with hyperthreading.

As the initial Linux timing numbers jumped around (the logical cores were all running processes) I'm timing with one process per node.

I'm not seeing the same compiler timing improvements I saw on MS7.

On MS7 I had the following averages in seconds (baseline was extrapolated from gcc production system):

Baseline 1152
O2 895
O3 828
O3, fp:fast=2 780
O2, No aliasing, fp:fast=2 629

Total drop of 45% just using compiler switches. All good.

On Linux I have the following averages (absolute numbers shouldn't be compared to MS7, baseline is gcc O2):

Baseline 1591
O2 1191
O3 1264
O2 no alias 1291
O2 fp fast =2 1190
O2 no alias, fp fast=2 1268

So a nice roughly 25% drop using ICC O2 but O3 is slower, fp fast=2 has no impact and no alias also makes the executable run slower!

The nodes have more than enough memory for the datasets I've timed and the CPU's are 100% utilised ie application is compute bound.

The optimisation effects don't look right particularly given my experience on MS7.

Any suggestions?

Regards

David

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimP