Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Automatic parallelization lost in static library?

Kandel__Mikhail
Beginner

I have a highly separable, embarrassingly parallel image processing code.

When I have a standalone program I see a nice speedup when I enable automatic parallelization.

Unfortunately, when I build my critical region as a .lib file, and link it to my existing code consistently uses only 1 core. I verified by looking at process monitor, which in my case shows only 25% utilization.

How does automatic parallelization work when linking static libraries?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

The .lib would be built and the application would need to be built and linked with /Qparallel or /Qopenmp.  It won't work like MKL or IPP where simply linking the .lib would cause it to go parallel, in case that is your question.  The current restriction against using a static libiomp5 should protect you against problems caused by linking libiomp5 into the .lib build.

If you call your auto-parallelized .lib code from inside a parallel region, the .lib code won't add additional threads unless you set OMP_NESTED.

Maybe I'm mis-reading between the lines of your question. A build log might help.

0 Kudos
JenniferJ

did you build the .lib with /Qipo? also try build the program with /Qipo.

And you could try with the Intel Cilk Plus's cilk-for as well. Here we have several simple image processing examples.

Jennifer

0 Kudos
Kandel__Mikhail
Beginner

TimP (Intel) wrote:

The .lib would be built and the application would need to .be built and linked with /Qparallel or /Qopenmp.

Does the target application need to be linked with /Qparallel? In my case I am linking my static .lib to a solution build with VS 2012, so this would be impossible?

TimP (Intel) wrote:

A build log might help.

The static library