Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

Basic doubt on Assembly format (updated)

Chandra_V_
Beginner

Dear All,

I am new to assembly language. Using, GCC on Windows 7 with Mingw. Using following command, using source file Hello.c, 

got the Disassembley  on the Hello_asm.txt ( can see the assembly content..believe it is in Intel format).

objdump -M intel -S -d Hello.o >Hello_asm.txt

Fine. Now, another secnario,   if the use the Intel C++ compiler on my Windows 7 PC, Without  Visual studio environment, compile Hello.c and get the  Assembly file.. believe it will created with .asm  ( Hello.asm.).  My doubt :  Hello.asm ( Intel)  and Hello_asm.txt (GCC) will have same assembly language content for the x86  platform/Windows. Irrespective of whether an exe  file created or not  (from Obj file or  assembler)

Please advise. Am i missing any info.

Cheers!

Chandra 

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Viet_H_Intel

Hi Chandra,

If you compared instructions to instructions, then the 2 compilers might not generate the same asm, but it should run. Also, you can mix-match objects compiled with Intel compiler with MS on Windows or Gnu on Linux. 

Regards,

Viet Hoang

0 Kudos
Chandra_V_
Beginner

Dear Viet Hoang,

Got your point. Will look into.. and update here.

Thanks a lot.

-cheers! chandra

0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

Windows and Linux use different conventions for passing arguments in registers to functions, and this difference can make the two assembler files substantially different. There are utilities available for porting assembler files; see, for example, http://www.agner.org/optimize/#objconv .

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Additionally, Linux systems often require code to be written in Position Independent Code (PIC) format, whereas Windows does not (code relative to the VM's location 0).

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
Chandra_V_
Beginner