Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

Beginner's Problems with LNK2019: unresolved external symbol

james_reeder
Beginner
Hello all,
I am not a programmer by trade, but I have been working with Visual Basic 2008 to solve some econometric problems. In donwloading the Parallel Studio XE 2011, with the MKL library, I came across some linear algebra functions that are highly useful. One particular one, sgels, I am trying to use in my code to simplify some steps, but I keep getting the following error:
1>SMM Trial.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _sgels referenced in function _main
1>SMM Trial.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _sgels referenced in function : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
I have tried to add the, what I assume, are correct pathways and libraries to the linker to call in this function, but to no avail. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.
James
0 Kudos
3 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
You have described the problem, but left out much of the detail that is needed to analyze the failure to link.

How is SGELS being called? From Basic or C? Which compiler options were used? What was the linker line?

Much of the missing information is often to be found in the build log in VisualStudio. Simply posting such a log from the failed build may suffice to diagnose the problem.

There are several examples of calling SGELS from C in the ...\ComposerXE-2011\mkl\examples\lapacke\source directory, using the new LapackE interface, which makes calling Lapack routines from C more natural and less error-prone than having to call Fortran routines and attending to the issues related to mixed-language programming.
0 Kudos
james_reeder
Beginner
Hello,