Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Cannot find icl on Windows

zzzhhh
Beginner

I'm new to intel's software products and I am now following a tutorial of MKL on Windows (link). This tutorial says we can use `icl` or `build` to build the sample code, but when I run them, I was given error:

'icl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

The MKL version is 2019 Initial release and I am running it in Intel Parallel Studio XE 2019 -> Compiler and Performance Libraries -> Command Prompt with Intel Compiler 19.0 -> Compiler 19.0 for intel 64 Visual Studio 2015 environment. I think the environment variables like PATH should be properly set in this CLI. I am using Windows 10 and Visual Studio 2015 and 2017 are properly installed. I have checked that all system requirements are met. Also, I have used "Repair" in the installer to make sure MKL is installed correctly. The CPU of my desktop is intel Core i5. So why `icl` and `build` cannot be located? How to fix it? Thank you.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Viet_H_Intel

Can you give us a few screenshots to take a look?

Thanks,

Viet

0 Kudos
zzzhhh
Beginner

Hi, Viet:

Thanks for your request. Sure, following are screenshots I think useful for your troubleshooting.

This is the screenshot for the installer:

This is how I was instructed to do in the online tutorial

This is the start menu for intel's software on my Windows 10 desktop:

I guess this CLI is like its counterpart in VS2015 in which everything is properly configured, so I click it and run icl in it, but I got the not-found error:

That's all. I hope the cause is simply that intel C++ compiler is not installed, but I think intel is a big company which hire only smartest students, so if any component is required, the installer should automatically install it to make MKL up and running. Please let me know if you need more information. Thanks.