Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Compiler Options for Simulation

AbdelrahmanHussein

Hi,

This is my first post here. I am a newbie with Intel compilers and trying to get started with them.

Basically, I am working on building SPEC OMP 2012 using Intel C/C++ and Fortran compilers. My end goal is to simulate that on the gem5 simulator. Below, are the compiler options that were used to build the benchmark:

CC	= icc 
FC	= ifort
CXX     = icpc

COPTIMIZE = -O3 -xSSE4.2  -ipo1 -qopenmp -ansi_alias -mcmodel=medium -shared-intel
CXXOPTIMIZE = -O3 -xSSE4.2 -ipo1  -qopenmp -ansi_alias -mcmodel=medium -shared-intel
FOPTIMIZE = -O3 -xSSE4.2 -ipo1  -qopenmp -mcmodel=medium -shared-intel

However, when I try to run the benchmarks on the targeted system for simulation, I encounter the following error:

Please verify that both the operating system and the processor support Intel(R) X87, CMOV, MMX, FXSAVE, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4_1, SSE4_2 and POPCNT instructions.

I am sure that my OS supports these instructions since I tested it on a different simulator and it worked just fine! 

Question #1: What should be the right compiler options to use to make the code compatible with the simulated system? I thought about some a few options but not sure if they are going to work:

• Use -O2 instead of -O3 so that it does not generate vectorization (hopefully my understanding is correct!)
  • Remove the -xSSE4.2
  • Add -no-simd and -no-vec

Question #2: Do you recommend using -xHost? Why?

Question #3: Should I use  -no-intel-extensions? Or, it is not needed in my case?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AbdelrahmanHussein

Hi @SeshaP_Intel ,

I am sure I posted a very detailed reply to your questions on July 27. However, I cannot see it for some reason.