Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Error in compiler aliasing

tudoroiu__marin
Beginner

Dear all,

First of all I am not a programmer so please excuse me if I use some improper terms.

I am trying to compile the hdf5 libraries under ubuntu 16.04 with Intel Parallel Studio XE 2018, but whenever I configure them, in the configure output I read:

compiler 'icc' is Intel icc-18.0.1.163
compiler 'ifort' is Intel ifort-18.0.1.163
compiler 'icpc' is GNU g++-5.0.0

My environment variables are set up under /home/.bashrc and are as follows

source /opt/intel/parallel_studio_xe_2018.1.038/bin/psxevars.sh
source /opt/intel/compilers_and_libraries_2018.1.163/linux/bin/compilervars.sh intel64
export CC=icc
export CXX=icpc
export CPP='icc -E' 
export F77=ifort
export FC=ifort

Also this is the reply of the which command:

chertan@chertan-UX310UQ:~/Software/Installers/hdf5-1.10.1$ which icpc
/opt/intel/compilers_and_libraries_2018.1.163/linux/bin/intel64/icpc

I generally use cmake-gui to be sure to point to the correct compilers, but I cannot in this case, and I have to make sure that hdf is compiled with intel. Why does my environment sets icpc to g++? There's no environmental variable pointing to that!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
TimP
Honored Contributor III

That log file is the right one.  The error messages are a bit strange.  It seems that it tried to run icpc without specifying the conftest, so something went wrong in a hidden place.   Maybe the script hasn't been set up for recent versions of icpc.  If that is the case, you would have to go to an hdf5 forum to find out what it takes to support the latest icpc (make certain you have the right up to date hdf5 distribution).