Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7956 Discussions

Fatal compilatrion error ICC on Ubuntu 22

degennar
Beginner

Hello,

I have been using the Intel Fortran and C++ compilers for many years on Ubuntu, thanks to the license that I have access to through the institution where I work as researcher.

A few days ago, I upgraded Ubuntu from v20 to v22, and since then I encountered many issues when compiling with ICC. In the following I report the error:

icc -O3 -D__DFTI -D__MPI -I. -I/home/degennar/CODES/koopmans/quantum_espresso/q-e//include -I/home/degennar/CODES/koopmans/quantum_espresso/q-e//FoX/finclude  -I/opt/intel/compilers_and_libraries_2020.4.304/linux/mkl/include   -c copy.c
In file included from copy.c(3):
/usr/include/stdio.h(189): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
    __attribute_malloc__ __attr_dealloc_fclose __wur;
                         ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(223): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
     __THROW __attribute_malloc__ __wur __attr_dealloc_free;
                                        ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(260): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
                         ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(294): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
                         ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(309): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
    __THROW __attribute_malloc__ __attr_dealloc_fclose __wur;
                                 ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(315): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
                         ^

/usr/include/stdio.h(830): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
    __attribute_malloc__ __attr_dealloc (pclose, 1) __wur;
                         ^

In file included from copy.c(4):
/usr/include/stdlib.h(566): error: attribute "__malloc__" does not take arguments
      __attr_dealloc_free;
      ^