Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Guidance for compiler options

dw_1_153
Beginner

Dear All,

Newbie here. People told me Intel compiler is way faster than gcc. And I found it is true on our cluster with intel chips. But these days we bought a new AMD chips cluster. I am not sure what compiler options should I use. Could you please give me some instructions? Thanks. Here is the AMD details,

processor : 63
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 21
model : 2
model name : AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 6378
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 2399.837
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 2
siblings : 16
core id : 7
cpu cores : 8
apicid : 79
initial apicid : 79
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 13
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid amd_dcm aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 fma cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes xsave avx f16c lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 nodeid_msr tbm topoext perfctr_core cpb npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeassists pausefilter pfthreshold
bogomips : 4799.73
TLB size : 1536 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9] [10]

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Sukruth_H_Intel
Employee

Hi,