Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

How to Get a new License File

Paul_S_3
Beginner

Hello all.  My student license for Intel Parallel Studio XE Professional Edition for C++ Windows has expired after its one year lifespan.  How do I get a new license file for another year (I'm still a student).  On the webpage https://software.intel.com/en-us/qualify-for-free-software/student it appears that I can only download new software, not simply a new license file.  I'd rather avoid downloading the entire package all over again, and would prefer to continue using the 2015 version that I already have.

Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
KitturGanesh
Employee

Hi Paul,
If you read the student FAQ, you can reapply after the 12 month period expires. That said, once you reapply you'll see the following:

"The product installer will automatically detect system settings to activate this product. You must be connected to the Internet to use this automatic activation. If you need to acquire your license file now, for offline installation, please click here to provide your host information and download your license file."

Go to the link "here" above and get the license file for the offload installer.  The license file should be compatible with your 15.X version as well.
So, you can put that license file in the /opt/intel/licenses folder if you'd installed the 15.X as root or wherever on your system. You can then set the environment variable INTEL_LICENSE_FILE to the path where the new license is found (make sure to export that env variable) and your 15.X product should work off that license file. This is the workaround I can think of which should work. Let me know otherwise.

Kittur

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
KitturGanesh
Employee

Hi Paul,