Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

How to set the compiler permanently?

Zoltán_C_
Beginner

As a student, I successfully installed the Intel Parallel Studio XE 2016 Update 1 on the latest Ubuntu Mate in Virtualbox (I know, that the virtualization makes some features not work, but for me basically the compiler is needed at this time). It works well, but I would like to be able to use it just by typing icc in the terminal. I followed the steps of https://www.cms.hu-berlin.de/de/dl/systemservice/computeservice/docs/start_c.pdf, i.e.

source <install-dir>/bin/iccvars.sh <arg>

Since the program was installed to /opt/intel, I typed the command

source /opt/intel/bin/iccvars.sh intel64

After it, I can reach the commands icc and icpc, whichever directory I am. However, if I open a new terminal, I have to walk through this process again, meaning that I have to do that after a reboot. How can I achieve so that I don't have to repeat these steps, but Linux remembers it?

By the way, which architecture do you recommend: ia32, ia64 or intel64 (I have a 64 bit Linux and an Intel Core i7-4710MQ CPU)?

Thank you,

Zoltán

0 Kudos
1 Solution
TimP
Honored Contributor III

As mentioned in the html page which the compiler install tries to display at the end, each linux shell has a file such as .profile in each user's home directory, where you could add the source compilervars step so that it happens automatically for each new shell. By the way, iccvars, ifortvars, and compilervars appear to have been identical for several years; any of them will set up both Fortran and C and C++ if both have been installed.

ia64 will not work unless you have an Itanium machine and install icc 11.1.