Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

ICC 13.0 backend signals

Marián__VooDooMan__M
New Contributor II

Greetings,

I am playing with the latest ICC 13.0 to day, package 0.041 in MSVC 2010.

I am getting "backend signals" at link phase for x64 build when I mix /Qipo .exe with /Qip .lib's and vice-versa. Another issue I had, was some PDB compiler error.

from build log:
[bash]--- snip ---
" : error : backend signals xilink : error #10014: problem during multi-file optimization compilation (code 4) xilink : error #10014: problem during multi-file optimization compilation (code 4)[/bash]I can provide .obj's and .lib's as a private post (I ask for confidency) if you will not be able to reproduce the bug.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Vladimir_P_1234567890
Hello,
I'm not an expert in compiler but I believe if you use static libs or putting objects together you need to set the same IPO settings for all objects linking to the same module.
--Vladimir
0 Kudos
Marián__VooDooMan__M
New Contributor II
Hello,
I'm not an expert in compiler but I believe if you use static libs or putting objects together you need to set the same IPO settings for all objects linking to the same module.
--Vladimir

It was working well (mixing various IPO settings) with pre-13.0 ICC's. The static lib compiled with /Qipo just generated remarks/warnings about (not-)vectorised loops at link phase of .exe/.dll (/Qip). You just had to set correct linker settings, like link-time code generation, and so on.

Unfortunately, linking .exe with /Qipo is not so easy, since the compiler uses like 12 GiBs of RAM, though I have physically only 8, so due to swapping it lasts for more than one day to link. Hence I use /Qip, but I have few static libs, that are performance critical, and they are small, so I use /Qipo for them.

0 Kudos
Marián__VooDooMan__M
New Contributor II
Quoting VooDooMan
Hello,
--Vladimir