Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

Intel on Linux...what directory?

lkeene
Beginner
Hello all, complete Linux novice here.

By some bumbling miracle I've managed to install the Intel Compiler Suite Pro on our Linux box (Red Hat Enterprise). Since I know next to nothing about Linux I consider this a major victory! Anyway, I installed to the default directory...whatever that is, but I'm perusing the file system and I don't see anywhere the compiler was installed to. I see the directory I created that the download was unpacked into, but I'd like to know the location of the actual installation. Anyone? Thanks in advance.

-L
0 Kudos
1 Solution
TimP
Honored Contributor III
If it's the default dir, it's under /opt/intel/.

To use, you need to run the script iccvarsXX.sh like:
$ . iccvarsXX.sh

Then you can use "icc" to compile .c code, "icpc" for .cpp code.

recent versions of the path setup script run like
source /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/059/iccvars.sh intel64 (bash)
source /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/059/iccvars.csh intel64 (tcsh)
ia32 instead of intel64 for 32-bit compiler
iccvars and ifortvars have the same effect, when both are present.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
JenniferJ

$ . iccvarsXX.sh

Jennifer
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III

$ . iccvarsXX.sh

0 Kudos
lkeene
Beginner
Quoting - tim18

Thank you both for the good answers. Running this script does what...set up the environment or something?

Note to anyone else reading:
I believe the correct path (at least on my machine) is "source /opt/Intel/Compiler/11.1/059/bin/iccvars.sh"
0 Kudos
lkeene
Beginner
Quoting - lkeene

Thank you both for the good answers. Running this script does what...set up the environment or something?

Note to anyone else reading:
I believe the correct path (at least on my machine) is "source /opt/Intel/Compiler/11.1/059/bin/iccvars.sh"