Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Issues installing on Linux

exaviour_blackmsn_co
Greetings All,

I'm new to the world of compilers and to some extent, linux. I'm trying to understand if the comiler can
be installed and used at the command line. I ask because I've seen many articles related to installing as an add-on to Eclipse.

I assumed that I could do a silent install from the command line in Ubuntu 9.10 and I have all pre-requisites for C++ 11.1 When I attempt to install from the command line, it fails and tell me to see the Log File. I can't seem to find the log file to know what's wrong.

Could someone shed some light on this for me?

Thanks
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Yuan_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Please followbelow guide for silent installation on linux:
http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-compilers-for-linux-version-111-silent-installation-guide/

Thanks.

0 Kudos
exaviour_blackmsn_co

I have attempted to follow this guide with determination, however, a few questions go unanswered.

1) What format does the License File need to be?
2) Where is the log file located for purposes of a failed installation?
3) Do I need to set global permissions on the file, or just run the installer as root?

Cheers
0 Kudos
Yuan_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

To answer your questions:
1) What format does the License File need to be?
.lic file. It should be attached in your registration email.