Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7956 Discussions

LINK : fatal error LNK1104 when /Qguide-par option is added

Eric_Kjellén
Beginner

Hi!

I am very new to programming and the Intel compiler so please bear with me if I have missed something basic. =)

I am attempting to enable the auto-parallelization guide option (/Qguide-par) with Intel Parallel Studio XE 2013 and Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Professional in Windows 7. Compiling the project goes fine (options that differ from default are /O3, /Qparallel and basic run-time checks set to default, i.e. should be disabled) but when I try to append /Qguide-par as a command line option (in Project Properties in VS2010) the linker fails with the following error:

1>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'Debug\test2.obj'

The additional dependencies (under Linker -> Input in Project Properties) look like this:

kernel32.lib;user32.lib;gdi32.lib;winspool.lib;comdlg32.lib;advapi32.lib;shell32.lib;ole32.lib;oleaut32.lib;uuid.lib;odbc32.lib;odbccp32.lib;%(AdditionalDependencies)

Full build output looks like this:

1>------ Build started: Project: test2, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Build started 2013-07-03 02:51:06.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1>  Creating "Debug\test2.unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate" was specified.
1>MessageBuildingWithCompiler:
1>  Building with Intel(R) C++ Compiler XE 13.1
1>ClCompile:
1>  ***** ClCompile (Win32 - Intel C++)
1>  All outputs are up-to-date.
1>  test2.cpp
1>  GAP REPORT LOG OPENED ON Wed Jul 03 02:51:06 2013
1>  
1>  Number of advice-messages emitted for this compilation session: 0.
1>  END OF GAP REPORT LOG
1>ipo : error #11018: Cannot open Debug\test2.obj
1>  xilink: executing 'link'
1>  LINK : C:\Users\Eric\documents\visual studio 2010\Projects\test2\Debug\test2.exe not found or not built by the last incremental link; performing full link