Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7942 Discussions

Large bit vector left shift with AVX512

Thorax581
Beginner
I'm new to AVX/AVX512 and I'm trying to implement a left shift (1 to 7 bits) on a bit vector that is thousands of bits in length (Skylake processor).

From the Intrinsics Guide, I can make repeated calls to "__m512i _mm512_shldi_epi64" to process 512 bits at a time (but I must manually handle the upper bits shifted out in each 64bit value).

Is there a better way to accomplish this?  Thanks in advance for all tips and pointers.

S.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
AndrewG_Intel

Hello @Thorax581

Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.

In order to provide you with the correct information or route this request to the proper channel of support, could you please confirm/provide the following information?

1- The exact model (SKU) of the Skylake processor you are using:

2- Are you developing software or hardware using Intel® components and/or Intel® tools? If yes, please provide more details and elaborate more on the type of project you are developing:

3- Just to make sure, when you said "Intrinsics Guide", do you mean this >> Intel® Intrinsics Guide?

Are you working with Intel® C++ Compiler and Intel® C++ Compiler Classic Developer Guide and Reference?

Best regards,

Andrew G.

Intel Customer Support Technician

0 Kudos
Thorax581
Beginner

Hi Andrew,

1) The processor is a "Intel(R) Xeon(R) Gold 6148 CPU @ 2.40GHz", Stepping 4 and flags include avx512f, avx512dq, avx512cd, avx512bw and avx512vl.  (IceLake?)

2) Code is getting blocks of LDPC encoded data from a Mount Bryce, then rotating (cyclic shift) the resultant bit buffer left by 1-7 bits.  The buffer can be 1k to 1M bits and gcc is the compiler.  Speed critical.