Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

Linking Calculix with Intel Compilers

Astryl_S_
Beginner

Hi,

I am trying to link Calculix v2.7 with Intel Compilers on Windows 64-bit, which requires Spooles and ARPack. Using msys and ming compilers I can combine the libraries using the 'make lib' command. What is the equivalent to the 'make lib' command using the Intel compilers (Intel Parallel Studio 2015)? 

If anyone has any more information regarding what I need to do to compile Calculix with the Intel Compilers it would be great. Please keep in mind   that I have no past experience working with compilers like these.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Shenghong_G_Intel

Astryl,

Hmm...Are you experienced on "make" and "makefile"? Basically, "make" is the command to parse "makefile" and execute the "rules"/"commands" in it. In these "commands", it will invoke compiler to build the source code.

Now, for your questions, first of all, there is no equivalent commands for "make lib" for a specific compiler. All these depends on how the "makefile" is written", if it is written like:

cl xxx.c

It is hardcoded to use MS compiler and you will need to change the makefile manually to change to other compilers (like Intel's, using "icl").

If the "makefile" is written like (a better makefile) -> below is pseudo-code only:

if not defined CC

CC=cl

endif

$(CC) xxx.c

Then, a possible usage is "make lib" (use cl as default), or "make lib CC=icl" (use intel compiler)....

A even better open source project will have something like "configure", which provides options like "CC", "CXX", "LD", "AR" and so on, and you can use these environment variables to configure your build system/process.

So, all depends on the project, different project use different build system and how these makefiles are written.