Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7956 Discussions

Linux and Windows Compiler Differences

jhudd
Beginner
Good morning,

I am a research scientist in atmospheric sciences and developed a universal kriging C application under Ubuntu 10.04 Linux. It has openmp pragma inserts and runs very well on the six dual corehardware platform.

The scientists who work with me only have access to Windows boxes; so, I built aWindows executable using Visual Studio 2008 with no change to the source code. The results were not correct.

I builtanother Windows executable using the Intel C compiler for Windows with no change to the source code and it had the same result as the Visual Studio executable.

Finally, I builta Cygwinversion of the Windows executable with no change to the source code and while it ran 12 times slower than the other executables; the output was identical to the Ubuntu Linux Intel compiler results.

Is there something I can do to make the Windows Intel C compiler work like the Linux Intel compiler.

Thank you,

John
0 Kudos
11 Replies
aazue
New Contributor I
Hi
If you using (http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/download) compiler GCC you have approximately -5/7%
performance decreased. Icc Linux and Icc Microsoft also almost same difference.(without OpenMp)
With very short threads, Icc with OpenMp very slow.. but with Linux or Microsoft same slow.
Is not an problem just you must use TBB better appropriated for resolve this problem
of (short threads)

Without suspecting your sincerity i have doubt that can be resulting same difference.
performance ICC linux and Icc Microsoft.

Send an specific source function form where you have observed, where it can be verified.

Nb
Also build last compiler source Gcc 4.5.1 in your Ubuntu is largely better that version origine 4.4.x.
if you wait performance.
Regards

0 Kudos
jhudd
Beginner
Thank you for your time bustaf.