Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7956 Discussions

Parallel Programming with Windows 7 OS

shadab_khatib
Beginner
Hello
I am a student and a C programmer. I use Windows 7 as my primary OS. I sometimes switch over to the Linux flavours namely Fedora 16, Ubuntu 11.10, Sabayon etc.But that slows down my PC speed as it occupies extra HDD space.

I need to know which compiler or IDE is best for executing programs using the header file and those programs which use threads(basically I am talking about the Parallel Programs).

In my Institution they use the Kdevelop IDE for executing the parallel programs using the headers and the programs that deploy threads.

I need a substitution for the Kdevelop IDE for the Windows 7 X64 platform.

I have tried to execute the same on Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition but they give errors about the execution files and the headers are not available.

So could anyone provide a solution to this problem?
0 Kudos
7 Replies
JenniferJ

This is not the right forum for this questions.

Check on msdn forum to see if they offer higher editions of Visual Studio for academic students.

Jennifer

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III
has to be supplied by your OpenMP library. The header file doesn't implement much of OpenMP; the compiler has to have built-in OpenMP capability and a very substantial library is needed, which in turn will depend on a threading implementation provided with the OS.
has internal function names which are specific to the associated library. It may translate only those OpenMP functions which you write explicitly, such as omp_set_num_threads(), omp_get_wtime(),.... and might not be needed even then, if your OpenMP happens to agree with legacy explicit definitions of those functions.