Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7943 Discussions

Please, help: ipo: warning #11010: file format not recognized for programio-std.obj

ascotilla
Beginner
Hi all,

I have a compilation problem by using a makefile. I've read similar cases for lib.a files, but not for .obj. The whole error is:

[ascotilla@lb-ascotilla-lap bin]$ source ./compilervars.sh intel64
[ascotilla@lb-ascotilla-lap bin]$ make
ifort -o motif_program programmain_std.obj programio-std.obj Array.obj -I/usr/local/lib/lne
tcdf_c++ -I/usr/local/lib/-lnetcdf
ipo: warning #11010: file format not recognized for programio-std.obj
programio-std.obj: file not recognized: File format not recognized
make: *** [motif_program] Error 1
[ascotilla@lb-ascotilla-lap bin]$

I'm a newbie in both linux and programming, so I'm sure it can probably be something pretty obvious, but I've been trying to look any related information and I'm not being able to go out from there. The program has already been compiled by others, so it shouldn't be a problem with it (but who knows..)

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
8 Replies
ascotilla
Beginner
Quite funny, I've just found out that every time I enter in a post is counted three times in the counter...:-)

However, I've still not been able to sort my little problem out. I don't mean to be annoying with that, but I don't have any other help appart from you, the manual and google..which should be enough, but this time I didn't found anything in the last two ones...

Thank you!
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
I suspect that some of the object files were compiled with the -ipo option and some without. Clean your project of object files and rebuild. If the problem persists, examine your makefile for inconsistent use of the -ipo option.
0 Kudos
ascotilla
Beginner