Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7956 Discussions

Please help with vectorization questions

diehard2
Beginner
Hi guys,

I'm new to trying to vectorize loops, and I have a couple of questions. I have a user defined type

struct MyComplex{
double re;
double im;
MyComplex(double real = 0, double imaginary = 0)
{
re = real;
im = imaginary;
}
//overload addition, subtraction, multiplication, division
MyComplex& operator=(const MyComplex& comp)
{
re = comp.re;
im = comp.im;

return *this;
}

const MyComplex operator*(const double s)
{

return MyComplex(s*re,s*im);
}

friend MyComplex operator+(MyComplex lhs,MyComplex rhs)
{
return MyComplex(lhs.re+rhs.re,lhs.im+rhs.im);
}
etc, etc.
}

Now, I would like to be able to vectorize the scalar operations on these complex numbers

So, I can get the following to vectorize (with arrays of type MyComplex test,a,b)
for (int i = 0; i< counter; i++)
{

test.re = a.re+b.re;
test.im = a.im+b.im;
}

but not

{
test = a+b;
}

The latter is preferable, as I could then have complicated complex addition, subtraction, and multiplication statements (as below), instead of a function for each (which would really complicate things)

{
test = a+b+b*a/b;
}

The reason it won't vectorize is because of mixed data types. I understand the basic concept of mixed data types, but I don't quite understand why it applies here.

Sorry, that was long winded. My second question involves the vectorization of loops with trig functions. I've run across some things on the web which says that this is possible, but I haven't gotten it to work. For instance, even the following gives an "unvectorizable statement"

for (int i=0; i< counter; i++)
{
cos(3.43524525);

}

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

~ Steve

0 Kudos
5 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III