Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

/Qparallel for light user of parallelism.

kruppa_laszlo
Beginner

Dear Forum,

I am just a hobbyist programmer. My platform is a HP xw8400 workstation, with one XEON E5335 2.00GHz quad core processor. I use the Intel C++ Compiler Pro version 11.0.066 through a VS2008 IDE. I develop programs for native 64 bit execution hoping that is better for handling big data volumes fast. I use quite basic level of C++ language: mostly FOR loops, arrays and sorting.

Unfortunately or not, lately, my favorite self-developed application (a sort of mathematical analysis tool) has got too far into heavy processing. One single analysis takes close to a week of nonstop processing to complete.

My feeling is that performance can be improved. I read Intels paper of January 14, 2010, about Automatic Parallelization, and followed the instructions therein. Now the work-intensive part of my program contains no WHILE loops, no BREAKs and no GOTOs. True, some function calls remained to access the qsort() function of C. I wonder if it is too many: there are three sortings in the innermost loop. I have specified the /Qparallel option.

Parallelization and vectorization goes virtually smoothly, as the compiler always reports success - several pages of success-messages. Still, the execution time remains just a little (max. 5%) less than that for the .exe produced by the plain MS compiler. As a relatively long-time user on the Intel C++ compilers, I am quite disappointed, because in the earlier days (for my earlier programs_) I used to have 50% of time reduction. Or even more.

Beside slowness, peak CPU usage doesnt exceed 25%, and also that is concentrated mostly in one core of the quad core Xeon. (One core loaded nearly to 100%, and the remaining three just watching the first almost unloaded.) It doesnt look very much like a workload distributed evenly