Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Question about divergence and branch instructions when coding to Intel Graphics.

Ben_Rush
Beginner

I looked and I'm not sure if there is a better forum for this, so I'll ask here. If there is, please let me know and I'll move my question. 

I'm quite new at developing for the GPU in general, and so some topics are still a bit new/confusing for me. One of them is the notion of divergence when it comes to branch instructions: how the SIMD EU can come become "stalled" when different kernel instances take different paths (please check my terminology here too). It's my understanding that, with NVIDIA, there's a notion of a "wavefront" across the the EU, whereby the individual threads are okay if they're each executing the same instruction; if that no longer becomes the case, then some threads are stalled. This means the SIMD lanes aren't maximally used and you can run into situations where performance fails. 

My high-level question is this: when programming for Intel's GPGPU, is this still the case? Or does it become more of an issue of instruction cache being not optimally used? Or both? Or neither? This article seems to indicate this is an "issue" with the Intel GPGPU as well: https://software.intel.com/en-us/node/540425. And I understand it's not really an issue, but just the way GPUs work, possibly.