Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Questions

Quacker_B_
Beginner

I am a c++ developer writing an open source game and am interested in using your compiler. I would like to know if it is possible to use the SDL, SDL_Image and SDL_ttf libraries as i can't seem to find any builds for the intel compiler. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Quacker Blaster

0 Kudos
6 Replies
SergeyKostrov
Valued Contributor II
>>... I would like to know if it is possible to use the SDL, SDL_Image and SDL_ttf libraries as i can't seem to find any builds for >>the intel compiler... Try to compile sources of these libraries with Intel C++ compiler, for example version 13.x, and report problems / issues if detected.
0 Kudos
Melanie_B_Intel
Employee

The Intel compiler provides transparent compatibiliity with typical builds, e.g. gcc- and Visual Studio, so ideally an Intel-specific configuration of those open source libraries won't be required. As Sergey says, if you find a compiler problem please report it. You can read the latest compiler release notes for information about system requirements. Here's a link: http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-c-composer-xe-2013-release-notes 

0 Kudos
Quacker_B_
Beginner

Hi, as stated i'm posting the error the compiler is throwing at me. It seems to be related to the new C++11 standard which VS 2012 Update 2 doesn't support. However according to wikipedia:

Intel C++ Composer XE 2011 Update 6 and above (compiler 12.1) September 8, 2011 Intel Cilk Plus language extensions updated to support specification version 1.1 and available on Mac OS X in addition to Windows and Linux, Intel Threading Building Blocks updated to support version 4.0, Apple blocks supported on Mac OS X, improved C++11 support including support for Variadic templates, OpenMP 3.1 support.