Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

Slow compile

Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
Moved from Fortran forum
0 Kudos
6 Replies
rayjj
Beginner
Hi,

I'm not sure if this should be on a separate thread since I am dealing with a C file (not fortran).

I am a developer of Ghostscript and am evaluating the 'icl' compiler, using it to build Ghostscript. One of the files is a generated C file that contains data (only data) for the PostScript fonts and CMap Resources needed for PDF. This
generated file takes almost two hours to compile (114 minutes) on my 2GHz Core 2 Duo laptop with 2Gb RAM and uses 1.3Gb of RAM (according to the XP Windows task monitor).

On the same machine, under Cygwin 'gcc' compiles it in 1m43s and MSVC 8 (VS 2005) compiles it in 15.8 seconds !!!

Admittedly this file is somewhat unusual in that it is entirely data initializers using hex values to initialize arrays of uint32_t. The file contains 823,336 lines (73Mb) and initializes 362 arrays that contain a total of 26Mb (the object file size).

The compiler command line I use is:

icl /c /DGX_COLOR_INDEX_TYPE="unsigned __int64" @.objccf32.tr /GF /Od /Ob2 /Za /Zm1100 -I.obj -I.base -Fo.objgsromfs1.obj .objgsromfs1.c

The C file is available and I can attach it if desired. It compresses using Winzip to 35Mb. Please let me know if you need it, or if I should try it with different compiler options.

Best Regards,
Ray Johnston
Artifex Software Inc.
__________________________________________________________________________________
Quoting - jeffrey_t_b