Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

Visibility of variable to debugger inside a for loop scope

dom_beau
Beginner
Hello!

I'm new to Intel C++ compiler (9.1) and I'm facing a hard to work around problem: in the code (written in the past by others than me), all variables defined inside the scope of a for loop are invisible (cannot set watches) in debug config. I'm executing the code line by line but all these variables cannot be evaluated. I get a CXX0017 error.My app is in x64 but all optimization is disabled. I think so...

Any idea would be more than appreciated!

Setup:

VS 2005 + ICC 9.1, Debug config... I will give more info if I have to.

Dominique
0 Kudos
14 Replies
JenniferJ
This is a similar issue reported about debug info with omp. It is fixed in our next major release 12.0 and next version of Intel Parallel Composer.

Please wait for the news when the new compilers are released.

Thanks,
Jennifer
0 Kudos
dom_beau
Beginner
This is a similar issue reported about debug info with omp. It is fixed in our next major release 12.0 and next version of Intel Parallel Composer.

Please wait for the news when the new compilers are released.

Thanks,
Jennifer

Jennifer,

You mean even if omp is disabled? (OpenMP support is set to NO in Properties-C/C++-Language-OpenMP support)

By the way, why am I able to see these variables when I start/build/debug a little test application like this one?

int main(...)
{
for( int i=0; i<20; i++ )
{
cout << i << endl;
}

return 0;
}

The "i" is perfectly visible during debugging while it is invisible using the same compiler/debugger in my main application.

You sais the bug will be fixed in 12.0 but I see no bug with my little app... Where should I look for the difference that make my main app essentially undebuggable? Any hints?

Thanks a lot!

Dominique
0 Kudos
JenniferJ