Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

icl: error can't open file two_exits.obj for write.

happyfish
Beginner

Hi, I'm very new to the Vectorization with Intel C++ Compiler

I read some articles about Vectorization stuff, and I'm wondering how to do the settings

I tried the command line mode, I don't know why it doesn't work for me

It always say that " error: can't open file two_exits.obj for write.
compilation aborted for two_exits.cpp"

any idea?

thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Mark_S_Intel1
Employee
Files and folders can have READ persmissions where you can only access or view their contents but not be able to modify them. They can also have both READ and WRITE permission where you can modify them. The message indicates that the Visual Studio is undable to create the object file for two_exists.cpp. The reason as indicated, is the file cannot be written. This could be because:

1. the folder your source files are in has READ persmission.
2. you may be using Windows 7 and you are trying to write to a folder that was created by another user
3. you may be using windows 7 and the Visual Studio instance you are using does not have user right to modify files

You can modify file/folder READ/WRITE attributes by closing Visual Studio and making sure no other application is currently accessing the folder or files in that folder, and then right clicking the folder name and clicking the "Read-only" check box to deselect it (e.g. if it already has a check mark in it).

If you are using Windows 7, you could close Visual Studio and reopen it by right clicking on it's icon and selecting "Run as administrator" to have permissions to modify files.

--mark
0 Kudos
Said_E_
Beginner

Hi,