Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

intel c++ studio xe 2011 on ubuntu

rohitsinghbhadana
Hello,
I am new to Intel c++ compiler and just downloaded the free version(does it matter)provided of it for linux(Intel C++ Studio XE 2011 for Linux). I tried installing it on my PC which runs on a ubuntu 10.10. During installation,after checking the pre-requisites it showed following result.
Step no.1 of 6 | Options > Missing Optional Pre-requisite(s)
____________________________________________________________________________________
-- Intel Vtune Amplifier XE 2011:unsupported OS
________________________________________________________________________________-
Now my question is this product not supported by ubuntu. if yes then is there a way around?
What other Linux distributions are supported by it.Please help!!!
Thanks
RSB
0 Kudos
26 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
Apart from "optional pre-requisite" being an oxymoron, it is probably the case that your `distro of Linux is one of those that are not officially supported by Intel.

If so, provided that you have the other prerequisites (e.g., gcc, g++, binutils) installed, the installation will probably work fine, and is worth trying.

If the attempt is successful, you are "home free". If not, you have added a few datapoints to a plot of Intel package 'xx works' against 'Linux `distro'.
0 Kudos
aazue
New Contributor I
Hi
It should work perfectly,if it not working with ubuntu, i do know where it could work ...
install libstd++ binutils ,libtool, libcompat, ia32
if some packages are absent,run update side repository www.
Regards

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III