Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

linux-openmpi-compilation

diedro
Beginner

dear all,

I am new in openMPI world and in general in parallelization.

I have some problems with configuration of openMPI in my laptop.

I have read your FAQ and I tried to google the problem but I was not able to solve it.The problem is:
I have downloaded the openmpi-1.6.3, unpacked it Then I have installed on my pc intel icc and icpc.when I run:./configure CC=icc CXX=icpc F77=ifort FC=ifort
I get:

[php]
*** Startup tests

checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu

checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu

checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu

checking for gcc... icc

checking whether the C compiler works... no

configure: error: in `/home/diedro/Downloads/openmpi-1.6.3':configure:

error: C compiler cannot create executables

See `config.log' for more details

diedro@diedro-Latitude-E6420:~/Desktop/Downloads/openmpi-1.6.3$ 

[/php]

I do not understand why. I did a simple hello project with icc and it works.(in attachment you can fiend the config.log)

I think that it is some problem with bash file:

[php]

PATH="/opt/intel/bin/compilervars.sh intel64$PATH"
source /opt/intel/bin/compilervars.sh intel64
source /opt/intel/mkl/bin/mklvars.sh intel64 mod lp64
export PATH

[/php]

but I don not know what because as I told you when I run a simple hello project with icc and it works

Really thanks for any help

0 Kudos
6 Replies
diedro
Beginner
dear all, My fault in the new version you need to do exactly like the FAQ told you and to not use icc or ifort o gcc, simple: [php] shell$ gunzip -c openmpi-1.6.3.tar.gz | tar xf - shell$ cd openmpi-1.6.3 shell$ ./configure --p [/php]
0 Kudos
bernaske
New Contributor I