cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
geco2
Beginner

namespaces; CXX0017: Error: symbol not found

Hi!

I am new to Intel C++ Composer. I have a very simple question about using namespaces.

I am using VS2010 SP1 and Intel C++ Composer XE-2011 Update 5.

If I set a breakpoint at "return 0;" then I cannot access the variable test::i in VS watch window
if I compile with Intel Composer. It is written that "CXX0017: Error: symbol "test::i" not found". But if I compile with Visual C++ there is no problem, the variable can be viewed and accessed.

#include "stdafx.h"

namespace test
{
int i=10;
}

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
return 0;
}

Thanks a lot!!! I am spending hours and cannot figure it out:)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

Hi,

thanks for reporting this issue. I first thought the variable i would be optimized away, but it is not the case. In assembler view I see the memory reference. So it should be visible in the debug view.

Because the Intel* compiler should behave the same as the Microsoft* compiler, this should work. I can reproduce that on my machine. I will make some more investigations and give you an update later.

Thanks,
Alex

Hi,

I've found a similar bug in our internal bug tracking system. For your reference, the number is: DPD200152957. I will add you to the affected customers.

Thanks,
Alex
Om_S_Intel
Employee

In my view it should be optimized out as dead code by the compiler.
geco2
Beginner

But the optimizations were disabled (Debug mode). And I was also using a more complex program in a Debug mode and could not access anything from namespaces in VS Watch window by using the syntax "namespace::variable". Whereas, in Visual C++ every variable could be viewed.

Om,

thats definitely a bug. I changed the example a little bit to the following:
[cpp]#include "stdafx.h"

namespace test {
    int i=10;
}

int z = 10; //visible

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[]) {
	return test::i; //test::i not visible
}[/cpp]