Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.

open_MP number of threads problem

Kazik
Beginner

Hello,

I'm not an expert in parallelization business but, since I have 4-core Intel processor, when compiling my program I use -openmp -parallel options that make all 4 cores running (which I check with the command htop in a linux system that I use). I have also an opportunity to run my programs on 8-core machine from time to time, so I log into that 8-core machine, I compile my code over there (no environmental variables concerning max. number of threads are set) and run the program. However, there's always only one processor running for 100% of performance. There are clearly 8 processes that have started but 7 of them are practically idle, like e.g. using 2% of a core.

So here comes my question: why is that? The code that I compile is completely the same, the configuration of both of the computers is exactly the same, the Intel compiler version is the same. I'm really confused with this.

Any help would be appreciated,

--

Kind regards,

Kazik

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Michael_K_Intel2
Employee

Hi,

I have some questions to make it easier to track down your problem:

• Did you use the -par-report command line option to get a report on what the compiler auto-parallelized? If not, can you please do so and see if the compiler reports out on code fragments that have been auto-parallelized?
  • Are there any OpenMP constructs (e.g. parallel for) in your code that would create threads? If this is not the case and the compiler did not report any auto-parallelized code fragments, it is likely that your program is still running sequentially.

Can you please check this and get back to us?

Cheers,

-michael

0 Kudos
Kazik
Beginner

Hi,

1) To answer the first question:

Yes, I do use -par-report and I get some info that some parts of my code have been vectorized/auto-parallelized. It looks like this: