Intel® C++ Compiler
Community support and assistance for creating C++ code that runs on platforms based on Intel® processors.
7944 Discussions

what does it mean? : A scalar L-value may not be assigned under a vector condition. It is an error.

mikeitexpert
New Contributor II

Hello Everybody,

I started vector programming just recently using ICL and I am really enjoying Intel facilities in this regard. 

I just come across a stetement as highlighted below, however I have a hard time making sense of it. In particular I don't understand what is meant by "vector condition".

I would appreciate if sb please elaborate as I am new to vector programming.

Regards

mikeitexpert_0-1617356276281.png

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/cpp-compiler-developer-guide-and-reference/top/optimization-and-programming-guide/vectorization/explicit-vector-programming/user-mandated-or-simd-vectorization.html

0 Kudos
1 Solution
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

scalar means non-vector (single) variable
L-value means left of =

vector condition... means a vector of conditions (not necessarily all having the same values)

result = yes, no, no, yes // make up your mind, what does this mean???

Jim Dempsey

View solution in original post

7 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

scalar means non-vector (single) variable
L-value means left of =

vector condition... means a vector of conditions (not necessarily all having the same values)

result = yes, no, no, yes // make up your mind, what does this mean???

Jim Dempsey

mikeitexpert
New Contributor II

So, If I understand your point correctly, it simply means that given a vector of boolean condition vector (eg. vectorized version of an if condition (deciding which R-value to be assigned to a scaler L-value) ), we logically can't decide which value to assign to a single scaler L-value and thus should be avoided. 

Is that correct ????

Regards

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove