cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
neilyoung
Beginner

A question regarding an Compute Stick 2 use case

Hello dear community,

I'm a newbie to Compute Stick 2, so please bear with me, if the question sounds stupid.

I'm having a running application of an interesting Open Source project named "monodepth2" (https://github.com/nianticlabs/monodepth2) which calculates depth maps from monocular images. This project relies on the power of a GPU. It make extensively use of pytorch and numpy.

Since not anybody nowadays has a compatible GPU I was wondering, if it would be possible to make use of the NCS2 (https://software.intel.com/en-us/neural-compute-stick), since I have read, that there are ports of pytorch to the Myriad VPU.

Is anybody able to give me a "could work, worth a try" for this idea?

0 Kudos
15 Replies
neilyoung
Beginner

Anybody?

MAURICIOAL_R_Intel

Thank you for reaching out.

OpenVINO toolkit supports different multiple hardware platforms and not all frameworks/topologies are supported. For additional information about ‎Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2, please check the MYRIAD plugin for supported frameworks/topologies.

Regards,

Mauricio R.

neilyoung
Beginner

Thanks for your answer. It doesn't help me much, since I don't want to use OpenVINO things.

MAURICIOAL_R_Intel

I apologize for the confusion. The model you are trying to use is not supported by the OpenVINO Toolkit.

The link in my previous response points to the MYRIAD plugin which is used by the OpenVINO toolkit to inference with the Intel Neural Compute Sticks. The documentation has a list of supported topologies/models.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Regards,

Mauricio R.

neilyoung
Beginner

:) Now it's me who is confused. Of course, the Intel Neural Compute Stick NCS2 _is_ supported by OpenVINO (or at least by the Intel version of it).

https://software.intel.com/en-us/neural-compute-stick

MAURICIOAL_R_Intel

Thank you.