cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner

BOXDZ77GA-70K wont boot or beep

All,

My motherboard wont boot up or beep, error code on my led is showing 04. i've unplugged everything and replugged it all in and still nothing.

Current setup for my pc is

600watt psu

960 gtx

multiple hdds, but i've unplugged all except one the primary SSD/HDD

unplugged all usb connections.

unplugged all case fans.

From what i can gather, mobo still works because when i removed ram it beeped stating no memory installed.

would removing the battery off the mobo be an option?

or flashing bios, i've never done it before.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Highlighted
Super User Retired Employee

These are Power-On Self-Test (POST) codes, not error codes. While a few codes are reserved to indicate that specific types of errors have occurred, the majority of the POST codes simply indicate that the BIOS has reached a certain point in its initialization and testing processes. POST Codes 0x00 - 0x0F are reserved for use as interim progress indicators within individual drivers/processes in the BIOS. Thus, seeing POST Code 0x04 by itself doesn't really tell us anything. If you can write down the sequence of POST codes you see occurring prior to this (final) code, it would help us narrow it down...

...S

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner

a bunch of numbers flash by quick but,

the number 31 appears and is solid for a few seconds, and then it goes back to 04.

0 Kudos
Highlighted

This means the board is unhappy with the memory. It cannot initialize it.

...S

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner

suggestion towards fixing this problem?

0 Kudos
Highlighted

You might have to replace the memory you are using...

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner

replaced ram sticks and still nada.

the led lights up as follows

31- for about 10 seconds.

cycles through a bunch of numbers

power cycles down and stays off for awhile and then power cycles on again

all the fans spin, no beep, nada.