Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jrothlander
Beginner

Beginner Question: FPGA based PCI boards for desktop PC

I'm brand new to FPGAs and I've been working through a few online courses the past 3-weeks. I picked up an old Altera Cyclone III board and have been learning Verilog and VHDL using this board. My plan is to upgrade to a more recent board here shortly, but I'm wondering if there a dev boards that are PCI based for desktop systems... vs only being available for servers.

I'm trying to figure out if a software developer like myself can take advantage of FPGAs for acceleration. Similar to what people do with GPU acceleration, but with an FPGA. To do that, I suspect I would need an PCI based FPGA board, which I do find. But only the FPGA loading is done over PCI. I need to be able to talk to the FPGA from code. I have seen a couple of examples with Xilinx and C++ where they go in and change the C++ code from using the standard library to using Xilinx custom acceleration library for common things like printf, and gain 30x acceleration. That is pretty fascinating. But I cannot find a card or board that supports this. It seems it's only available on $30K servers with $5K FPGA boards. Is there something available for the desktop?

Is this sort of thing only available through server cards, cloud services, etc. Does anything exist where I could use an FPGA board to accelerate my data access, complicated algorithms, AI algorithms, compilation, etc. but on a local machine? I do some compiler development and having an FPGA to hand off some of the work sounds really interesting. I was thinking about a FPGA base parser for example... assuming I could build something like that on an FPGA.