Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
idata
Community Manager

Intel DX79SI does not offer F2 BIOS option during boot after installing SSD Hard Drive

Jump to solution

Hi,

I've been running my Intel DX79SI for about a year now with no problems. Last weekend I installed a new SSD hard drive (Samsung 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD512BW 2.5" 512GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive). I loaded Windows 8 Pro 64 bit with no problem (which was what I've been running for a few months now). After two or 3 reboots I noticed the BIOS and boot options were no longer presenting during boot up.

I updated my BIOS to the latest with the EXE file option (SIX7910J.86A.0553.EB.EXE). The update was successful. After the update I did see the option to enter BIOS/Boot Options etc. along with a new option "F7 Flash Update" despite not having a USB thumb drive plugged in. After two or 3 reboots all the option have once again disappeared. I cannot enter BIOS during boot. This behavior clearly started after installing the SSD drive.

Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
JBish3
New Contributor II

Hi Bob, If you can then will you please try shutting your machine from command prompt ,,

Command: shutdown -s

Now start your machine see if your F2 option is coming or not ?

Regards,

J.Bisht

View solution in original post

7 Replies
JBish3
New Contributor II

Hi Bob, If you can then will you please try shutting your machine from command prompt ,,

Command: shutdown -s

Now start your machine see if your F2 option is coming or not ?

Regards,

J.Bisht

View solution in original post

TMcDo5
Beginner

Awesome Jitendra, that seemed to work for the next startup. After that the F2 option was gone again. Why would that make a difference?

TMcDo5
Beginner