Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.
6392 Discussions

How compatible is Myriad 2 or X for developing a product? The application uses a custom trained TensorFlow SSD MobileNetV2 model for object detection along with inference performed by the Open CV DNN module.

dilip96
New Contributor I

I am planning to buy a Myriad 2 or X and start working on them as an edge inference device. Please detail me on the Mentioned technologies compatibility (especially OpenCV DNN module). And also a brief insight on how to get started with the product will also be helpful, since I am very new to work with Intel boards.

And also, does the product accelerate only Inference of deep learning models are other image processing techniques too? In the application some image processing algorithms are run after the inference. Does the product give me some acceleration in those function?

Please provide me as much as details possible on these. Thank you.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
MAURICIOAL_R_Intel

Thank you for reaching out.

For the DNN module, we recommend you to take a look at its documentation here. Myriad is listed as a target device, so it should work with the Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2 (NCS2), you can check this guide for more information.

Does the product accelerate only the Inference of deep learning models? Are other image processing techniques too?

The Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2 only accelerates the inference of deep learning models. You can use OpenVINO Toolkit to optimize models for the Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2.

Also, you can check the Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2 starting guide here.

Regards,

Mauricio R.

dilip96
New Contributor I

Hi Mauricio,

Thanks for your immediate assistance. Information provided is very helpful.

Myriad is listed as a target device, so it should work with the Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2 (NCS2).