Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.

Poor performance (fps) on ssd_resnet_50_fpn_coco

Chen__Cheng
Beginner

Hi

I am new to Intel OpenVino, and so far it is really a beautiful solution for inference on CPU. Some of the optimized models converted from Tensorflow Object detection model zoo work amazing fast on the CPU, but some of them work dramatically slower than the faster ones. 

My system configuration: Ubuntu 16.04, i9-7900x, with 80GB ram and computer_vision_sdk_2018.5.455.

With reading the online documentation, I am able to convert several models into IR model and test inference. Besides all the mAPs, I am interested in seeing how many fps it can get on the CPU. For ssd_inception_v2_coco I am able to get around 80 fps, ssd_mobilenet_v1_coco with around 100 fps. The CPU extension I am using is from "/inference_engine_samples_build/intel64/Release/lib/libcpu_extension.so". 

But, ssd_resnet_50_fpn_coco only can run at around 8 fps. This is an almost 10x time difference and I am wondering why. On the other hand, the speed reference for those models (on GPU of course) is quite "linear" to the model size. I also tried faster rcnn with resnet50, it is only 5 fps on CPU. So, any hint will be very helpful. Could someone help to explain to me a bit why???

PS: in your Object detection models (https://docs.openvinotoolkit.org/2018_R5/usergroup1.html), every model has a link to the performance table, but it is not accessible to users such as me... Unlike the model zoo from tensorflow, I can quickly get an overview of each models' performance, it is quite useful to the developers as I assume. 

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Shubha_R_Intel
Employee

Dear Chen, Cheng: