Intel® FPGA Software Installation & Licensing
Installation and Licensing that’s includes Intel Quartus® Prime software, ModelSim* - Intel FPGA Edition software, Nios® II Embedded Design Suite on Windows or Linux operating systems.
1153 Discussions

License Server Migration Planning

bradstinson
Beginner

Hello,

I'm a sysadmin responsible for maintaining my company's license server and licenses it serves. I've been planning a migration from our current on-premises license server(s) running on Windows Server to running on CentOS7 on an AWS EC2 instance. I've read tons of documentation, but I have some lingering questions that none of it was able to address, nor searches across the community forum:

1) When we renew our license with all of our features in it, can we get the BORROW keyword in it? Is the keyword even compatible with our particular features in the license file?
2) Does the "rehost" process actively nullify the current in-use license on our currently running license server? In other words, does the act of renewing/ generating a new license cause an "outage" for developers using the existing license server?
3) What is the difference between the Intel Software License Manager that I'm unable to download from the Intel Registration Center and the vendor daemon tarballs I'm able to download from the Download Center for FPGAs? Is the Software License Manager just a lmgrd binary?