Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

DE0: Nios 2 with custom logic and PIO.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm just getting started with the DE0-board. (Cyclone III). My goal is to have a Nios 2 soft core processor together with UART. I also want the Nios processor to act master on the avalon bus communicating with custom logic (through PIO?). I've tried to go through the Nios II Hardware Development Tutorial (step by step), but I get error message when I'm trying to run as hardware. The error message tells me there's a mismatch of timestamp. Anyhow, does anyone know a great tutorial for my goal of having a soft processor communicating with custom logic through the bus? 

Kinds regards, 

mr_embedded
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The timestamp mismatch means that the SOPC project that is configured inside the FPGA isn't the same than the one your software was compiled for. Be sure to accomplish the following tasks, in that order: 

• Generate the system from SOPC builder, save and quit SOPC builder 

• Compile the design in Quartus 

• Program the FPGA with the compiled project 

• Compile your system library (old IDE) or regenerate your BSP (new IDE) 

• Compile your software 

• Download your software 

With the old IDE the system library is automatically rebuilt when there is a change in the SOPC project each time you 'make' your application, but it seems that with the new one you need to regenerate the BSP manually.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Daixiwen thanks a lot for your answer!